Skip to content

Recognition of National Sporting Organisations

National sporting organisations (NSOs) and national sporting organisation for people with disability (NSODs) can apply to be recognised by Sport Australia as the pre-eminent body for the development of their sport in Australia.

Sport Australia recognised NSOs and NSODs are eligible to access a range of resources, including the use of the Commonwealth Coat of Arms on the playing uniforms of athletes representing Australia and the dress uniforms of accompanying officials.

Applications are assessed biannually in January and July.

January assessment opens 1 October and closes 31 December each year.
July assessment opens 1 April and closes 30 June each year.

View Recognition Criteria

A full list of recognised NSOs and NSODs can be found in the Sport Australia Australian Sports Directory

Contact us to apply

Business Hours
9.00am – 5.00pm (Australian Eastern Standard Time)
Monday-Friday (excluding national and ACT public holidays)

Contact Us
Attn: Recognition
Sport Australia
PO Box 176

Phone: 02 6214 1111

Eligibility Criteria

  • The described activity meet the following “ A human activity capable of achieving a result requiring physical exertion and/or physical skill which, by its nature and organisation, is competitive and is generally accepted as being a sport.”
  • Be recognised as the pre-eminent organisation in Australia by an international federation which is a member of the Global Association of International Sports Federations.
  • Be accountable at the national level for providing its members with technical and ethically sound programs, services, policies and services.
  • Be not-for-profit and company limited by guarantee for a minimum of three years. If the organisation is an incorporated association a plan for transition to company limited by guarantee status will be required.
  • Have annual independently assessed financial statements and annual reports for the past three years, in accordance to the organisations legal requirements.
  • Have active branches or affiliated state/territory associations in at least four states/territories. This excludes winter (snow) sports that must have two.
  • Be accountable at the national level for establishing and enforcing the key policies that underpin integrity in the sport, including
    • A current policy for harassment, discrimination, bullying, abuse, child safe and complaints that at a minimum are consistent with Sport Australia policy templates; and
    • A current anti-doping policy compliant with the World Anti-Doping Code and approved by the Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority (ASADA). Please note once all other recognition criteria is met and notified by Sport Australia, ASADA will assist with this requirement.
  • Have a combined minimum total of 1000 active members with its state/territory affiliates (unless it is a current Olympic or Paralympic sport); and a system to register, maintain and report member details.
  • Demonstrate the organisation is the single national entity representing all forms of the sport in Australia from grass roots/community through to high performance.
Return to top