Skip to content
Media Centre

Media Awards

Winners for the 2019 Sport Australia Media Awards were announced in Thursday, 13 February 2020, with Karen Tighe accepting the Lifetime Achievement Award for contribution to sports journalism. Congratulations to all finalists.

The Sport Australia Media Awards recognise excellence in sports journalism, broadcasting and production. They focus on analytical and insightful reporting and the presentation of sport and sporting issues, with the ultimate aim of fostering improved coverage of key issues within sport.

The media awards are the only dedicated sports media awards in Australia. There are multiple categories that enable different media to compete on relative merits.

As well as recognising excellence, the awards provide media representatives with the opportunity to network with peers and key representatives of the sports industry.

For more information contact

Read about the 2019 winners, or see the list of all winners since 2002.

Dennis Cometti 2018 Media Awards

Key dates


Presentation gala dinner

The Sport Australia Media Awards presentation dinner was held at Doltone House, Hyde Park, Sydney, on Thursday 13 February 2020. Guests included media award finalists; the Sport Australia Board, executive and representatives; sport chief executive officers and other representatives of national sporting organisations; and representatives of the sports media industry.

Lifetime achievement award for sports journalism

This is awarded to an individual who has made a lengthy, significant and influential contribution to the reporting of Australian sport. Nominations are made by a Sport Australia-appointed judging panel, with the award determined by the Sport Australia Board.

Return to top